top of page

+3 and -3 from MSU vs. Georgia

I just got home and watched the replay of the game.

+3 1. Played better on the offensive end. Got the transition game going. 51% shooting, 47% from 3, and 78% from the line. 28 and 8 for Winston and shot it efficiently. 2. The #1 biggest positive from the last 2 games have been the steps Aaron Henry is taking. Taking steps as a playmaker. Running some point guard. Taking and making open 3's. Able to isolate him in the post. We can see him making strides little by little to becoming an even better player. 3. Played a great 10 minutes to end the first half. That was as good of basketball as we've played since the stretch vs. Seton Hall. Defended, ran the floor, rebounded, made shots, shared it. Those stretches continue to show us the ceiling. which is exciting for this team. -3 1. It's not really a +1 or a -1 more than a noticing. Not a lot of my analysis or anyone else's mean a lot right now, in my opinion. I think it was "rook" on here that spoke to the impact of the Winston tragedy. This team just isn't right and understandably so. After hearing the post-game comments today, we can all see the impact it continues to have. Throw in there the Langford injury, the Hauser situation, and the clunker to open the season against UK, and you just have a lot to deal with emotionally. I'm not sure when or if this team will get right, but I'm sure it is impacting the entire team and coaches way more than I could ever quantify. 2. Maxey, Powell, Edwards, and even Nolley to a certain extent. One guy really going off against us. Henry did a decent job on Edwards. When it was Brown or Winston/Hall switched onto him, it was game over. I think you need a Plan B and C when one guy starts beating you. Your choices are to either shrug your shoulders, tip your hat, and possibly lose the game/end your season, or adjust and make someone else beat you. Your Plan A worked in the first half. It didn't in the second. Yes, he made some REALLY TOUGH shots. But there were plenty of instances where we didn't run him off the 3-point line. Just sprint to him with 2 hands up and let him beat you and then defend from there. You can send a double when he crosses half-court. You can double all ball screens (Hall and Tillman were late getting to help off those). You can double once he puts it on the floor. It's what teams have done against us to limit Winston. You might only need it 3-4 times a year, but I think a defensive counter is worth a look or two in those situations vs. just tipping your cap. 3. Need more out of the 4/5 spot. I know what Tillman's numbers were, but he could've been much better on offense. The 4 spot continues to be a dilemma, as you get flashes of good from Bingham/Hall/Kithier and long stretches of not so good. MISC * I love Bill Walton. I don't need him to analyze the game, I can do most of that on my own. I just need some entertainment every once in a while and he provides that. Makes me laugh. I like to laugh. Not complicated. * We really struggled vs. the extended matchup zone. Stretches of bad turnovers are the kryptonite for this team. * I see Dayton is laying it on VaTech. How one team plays one night to the next doesn't always mean a lot, especially on back to backs. But I still think VT is a middle to bottom of the pack ACC team and won't make the tournament. * As Watts continues to struggle from 3, some of his shot selection from "3" in the 2nd half wasn't good. Off the dribble, stepbacks that are contested, aren't shots that will get you back into rhythm. The #1 reason players go into shooting slumps are bad shot selection.

bottom of page